Courts & Cases

Nuestra Señora de Regla

In 1819, 1 enslaved African(s) were “liberated” in a state-run scheme usually resulting in involuntary indentures, conscription, or re-enslavement. Under the jurisdiction of 4, Case ID LA-E-3138 occurred via the British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown.

Case Details

UID	LA-E-3138
Case Name	Nuestra Señora de Regla
Year	1819
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Enslaved Total	1
Liberated Africans Total	1
Registered Total	1
Notes
Sources	"List of Vessels Adjudicated in the Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission," 6 Feb. 1826, in “Class A. Correspondence with the British Commissioners at Sierra Leone, the Havannah, Rio de Janeiro, and Surinam, relating to the Slave Trade, 1826-1827,” in T. P. O'Neill, T. F. Turley, et al., eds., Irish University Press Series of British Parliamentary Papers: Slave Trade, vol. 11 (Shannon: Irish University Press, 1968-1969), 4-6; SlaveVoyages, www.slavevoyages.org (accessed 2020), Voyage ID: 2314.
Cite as:	Lovejoy, H. B. (2024). Conceptualizing ‘Liberated Africans’ and Slave Trade Abolition: Government Schemes to Indenture Enslaved People Captured from Slavery, 1800–1920. Past & Present, 1-69. https://doi.org/10.1093/pastj/gtae019 Chadha, K. (2024). Regenerated Identities: A Collaborative Web-based Content Management System for Digital Humanities. International Journal of Computer Applications, 186(29), 28–33. https://ijcaonline.org/archives/volume186/number29/regenerated-identities-a-collaborative-web-based-content-management-system-for-digital-humanities/

Event Details

UID	LA-E-3138
Case Name	Nuestra Señora de Regla

Departure from Africa

Date	1819-08-10
Region	Forests of West Africa
Place	Grand Bassa
Enslaved Total	1

Capture

Date	1819-08-10
Location	4°43'0" N., 9°3'0" W.
Navy	Britain
Ship	Morgiana
Captain	Charles Burrough Strong
Supporting Ships

Trial

Sentence Date	1819-09-13
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Date	1819-08-20
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Freetown
Liberated Africans	1
Registered	1

People Details

UI	Name	Age	Sex	Height (ft)
VI015940	Bora	30			View Details

List of Source(s)

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-179
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Regla
Title: Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report of the examination of the schooner NS de Regla
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; LeFer, Francisco; Hamilton, Daniel Molloy
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-08-26
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-26 f4-5
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Examination Report
Event Associator: V2314
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-08-26 Nuestra Señora de Regla V2314 FO315-26 f4-5.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-180
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Regla
Title: Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report on the declarations and interrogations of master and crew
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; LeFer, Francisco; Hamilton, Daniel Molloy
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-08-26
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-26 f6
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Interrogation Report
Event Associator: V2314
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-08-26 Nuestra Señora de Regla V2314 FO315-26 f6.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-181
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Regla
Title: Untitled
Creator: Campos, José
Creator Title: Spanish Commissioner of Arbitration
Description: Letter from José Campo to Thomas Gregory - Response to having seen a petition to proceed to the adjudication of the NS de Regla
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-09-03
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-3 f77-78
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Correspondence
Event Associator: V2314
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-09-03 Nuestra Señora de Regla V2314 FO84-3 f77-78.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-182
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Regla
Title: Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Recall of master and crew for further interrogation
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; LeFer, Francisco; Hamilton, Daniel Molloy
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-09-06
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-26 f7
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Interrogation Report
Event Associator: V2314
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-09-06 Nuestra Señora de Regla V2314 FO315-26 f7.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-259
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Regla
Title: Proceeds of Sales of the Hull, Stores and Cargo of the Spanish Nuestra Signora de Regla
Creator: Woods, James
Creator Title: Acting Registrar
Description: Itemized account of the sale of the NS de Regla following condemnation
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; Fitzgerald, Edward
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-08-16
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-9 f223-229
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Expense Report
Event Associator: V2314
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-08-16 Nuestra Señora de Regla V2314 FO84-9 f223-229.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-183
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Regla
Title: Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report of the examination of the schooner NS de Regla
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; LeFer, Francisco; Hamilton, Daniel Molloy
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-09-13
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-26 f8-10
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Examination Report
Event Associator: V2314
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-09-13 Nuestra Señora de Regla V2314 FO315-26 f8-10.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-184
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Regla
Title: Register of Slaves Natives of Africa Captured Onboard the Spanish Schooner Nuestra Señora de Regla
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 1 person
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-09-13
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-31 f8
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2314
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-09-13 Nuestra Señora de Regla V2314 FO315-31 f8.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-185
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Regla
Title: Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report of the examination of the schooner NS de Regla
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; LeFer, Francisco; Hamilton, Daniel Molloy
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-09-13
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-3 f75-76
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Examination Report
Event Associator: V2314
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-09-13 Nuestra Señora de Regla V2314 FO84-3 f75-76.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-186
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Regla
Title: Spanish Schooner NS de Regla
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 1 person
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-09-13
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-3 f75-76
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2314
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-09-13 Nuestra Señora de Regla V2314 FO84-4 f247.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-168
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Regla
Title: Recaptulation of Evidence on the Case of the N.S. de Regla
Creator: Gregory, Thomas
Creator Title: British Commissary Judge
Description: Description of the voyage and capture of the NS de Regla
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-3 f71-73
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Case Summary
Event Associator: V2314
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819 Nuestra Señora de Regla V2314 FO84-3 f71-73v.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-187
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Regla
Title: Landed from the Spanish Schooner Nuestra Senora de Regla
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 1 person
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-09-13
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12179
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2314
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Register1
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1819-09-13 Nuestra Señora de Regla V2314 Register1 SLR12179.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-188
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Regla
Title: Landed from the Spanish Schooner Nuestra de Senora
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 1 person
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-09-14
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12179
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2314
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.
Notes: Register2
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1819-09-14 Nuestra Señora de Regla V2314 Register2 SLR12179.pdf
Format: PDF