Courts & Cases

Fabiana

In 1819, 13 enslaved African(s) were “liberated” in a state-run scheme usually resulting in involuntary indentures, conscription, or re-enslavement. Under the jurisdiction of 4, Case ID LA-E-3139 occurred via the British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown.

Case Details

UID	LA-E-3139
Case Name	Fabiana
Year	1819
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Enslaved Total	13
Liberated Africans Total	13
Registered Total	13
Notes
Sources	"List of Vessels Adjudicated in the Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission," 6 Feb. 1826, in “Class A. Correspondence with the British Commissioners at Sierra Leone, the Havannah, Rio de Janeiro, and Surinam, relating to the Slave Trade, 1826-1827,” in T. P. O'Neill, T. F. Turley, et al., eds., Irish University Press Series of British Parliamentary Papers: Slave Trade, vol. 11 (Shannon: Irish University Press, 1968-1969), 4-6; SlaveVoyages, www.slavevoyages.org (accessed 2020), Voyage ID: 2315.
Cite as:	Lovejoy, H. B. (2024). Conceptualizing ‘Liberated Africans’ and Slave Trade Abolition: Government Schemes to Indenture Enslaved People Captured from Slavery, 1800–1920. Past & Present, 1-69. https://doi.org/10.1093/pastj/gtae019 Chadha, K. (2024). Regenerated Identities: A Collaborative Web-based Content Management System for Digital Humanities. International Journal of Computer Applications, 186(29), 28–33. https://ijcaonline.org/archives/volume186/number29/regenerated-identities-a-collaborative-web-based-content-management-system-for-digital-humanities/

Event Details

UID	LA-E-3139
Case Name	Fabiana

Departure from Africa

Date	1819-09-18
Region	Forests of West Africa
Place	Grand Bassa
Enslaved Total	13

Capture

Date	1819-09-18
Location	4°10'0" N., 7°52'0" W.
Navy	Britain
Ship	Morgiana
Captain	Charles Burrough Strong
Supporting Ships

Trial

Sentence Date	1819-10-07
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Date	1819-10-03
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Freetown
Liberated Africans	13
Registered	13

People Details

UI	Name	Age
VI015941	Flam	30	View Details
VI015942	Dee	28	View Details
VI015943	Pao	22	View Details
VI015944	Mufa	16	View Details
VI015945	Latty	22	View Details
VI015946	So	20	View Details
VI015947	Trua	30	View Details
VI015948	Tou	18	View Details
VI015949	Quaco	23	View Details
VI015950	Teagu	30	View Details
VI015951	May	25	View Details
VI015952	By	23	View Details
VI015953	Fugra	15	View Details

List of Source(s)

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-193
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Fabiana
Title: Spanish Schooner Fabiana
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 13 people
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-10-07
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-31 f12
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2315
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-10-07 Fabiana V2315 FO315-31 f12.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-194
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Fabiana
Title: Spanish Schooner Fabiana
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 13 people
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-10-07
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-4 f217v
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2315
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-10-07 Fabiana V2315 FO84-4 f217v.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-195
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Fabiana
Title: Schooner Fabiana
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 13 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-10-07
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12180-12192
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2315
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Register1
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1819-10-07 Fabiana V2315 Register1 SLR12180-12192.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-196
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Fabiana
Title: Spanish Schooner Fabiana
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 13 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-10-07
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12180-12192
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2315
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.
Notes: Register2
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1819-10-07 Fabiana V2315 Register2 SLR12180-12192.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-257
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Fabiana
Title: Account of Sales of the Hull, Stores and Cargo of the Spanish Schooner Fabiana
Creator: Woods, James
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Itemized account of the sale of the Fabiana following condemnation
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; Fitzgerald, Edward
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-08-16
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-9 f230-240
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Expense Report
Event Associator: V2315
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-08-16 Fabiana V2315 FO84-9 f230-240.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-243
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Fabiana
Title: His Majesty's Commissioners Sierra Leone
Creator: Casterleagh, Robert Stewart
Creator Title: Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs; Viscount
Description: Letter from Viscount Casterleah to Spanish Commissioners in Sierra Leona- Report on the condemnation of the Fabiana
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-03-29
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-4 f3-3v
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Sentence Report
Event Associator: V2315
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-03-29 Fabiana V2315 FO84-4 f3-3v.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-191
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Fabiana
Title: Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report of an examination of the Schooner Fabiana
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; Campo, José
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-10-04
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-26 f11-12
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Examination Report
Event Associator: V2315
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-10-04 Fabiana V2315 FO315-26 f11-12.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-192
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Fabiana
Title: Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report on the seizure of the Fabiana
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-10-07
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-26 f13-15
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Vessel Seizure
Event Associator: V2315
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-10-07 Fabiana V2315 FO315-26 f13-15.pdf
Format: PDF