Courts & Cases

Cintra

In 1820, 26 enslaved African(s) were “liberated” in a state-run scheme usually resulting in involuntary indentures, conscription, or re-enslavement. Under the jurisdiction of 4, Case ID LA-E-3141 occurred via the British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown.

Case Details

UID	LA-E-3141
Case Name	Cintra
Year	1820
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Enslaved Total	26
Liberated Africans Total	26
Registered Total	26
Notes	A Sierra Leone, un navire réputé portugais, La Cintra, est condamné le 3 juin 1820, après une capture datée de novembre 1819 - délai particulièrement long : 6 hommes, 8 garçons, 1 femme, 8 filles sont libérés.
Sources	"List of Vessels Adjudicated in the Court of the British and Portuguese Mixed Commission," 6 Feb. 1826, in “Class A. Correspondence with the British Commissioners at Sierra Leone, the Havannah, Rio de Janeiro, and Surinam, relating to the Slave Trade, 1826-1827,” in T. P. O'Neill, T. F. Turley, et al., eds., Irish University Press Series of British Parliamentary Papers: Slave Trade, vol. 11 (Shannon: Irish University Press, 1968-1969), 7-9; Serge Daget, Répertoire des Expéditions Négrières Françaises à la Traite Illégale (1814-1850) (Nantes: Centre de Recherche sur l'Histoire du Monde Atlantique et Comité Nantais d'Études en Sciences Humaines, 1988), 64; SlaveVoyages, www.slavevoyages.org (accessed 2020), Voyage ID: V2317.
Cite as:	Lovejoy, H. B. (2024). Conceptualizing ‘Liberated Africans’ and Slave Trade Abolition: Government Schemes to Indenture Enslaved People Captured from Slavery, 1800–1920. Past & Present, 1-69. https://doi.org/10.1093/pastj/gtae019 Chadha, K. (2024). Regenerated Identities: A Collaborative Web-based Content Management System for Digital Humanities. International Journal of Computer Applications, 186(29), 28–33. https://ijcaonline.org/archives/volume186/number29/regenerated-identities-a-collaborative-web-based-content-management-system-for-digital-humanities/

Event Details

UID	LA-E-3141
Case Name	Cintra

Departure from Africa

Date	1819-10-26
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Cape Mount
Enslaved Total	26

Capture

Date	1819-10-26
Location	6°29'0" N., 11°12'0" W.
Navy	Britain
Ship	Morgiana
Captain	Charles Burrough Strong
Supporting Ships

Trial

Sentence Date	1820-06-03
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Date	1819-11-02
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Freetown
Liberated Africans	26
Registered	26

People Details

UI	Name	Age
VI016410	Songea	22	View Details
VI016411	Ki Bungee	35	View Details
VI016412	Qui	10	View Details
VI016413	Galee	13	View Details
VI016414	Musa	8	View Details
VI016415	Nacquay	12	View Details
VI016416	Bajar	12	View Details
VI016417	Mayo	14	View Details
VI016418	Bayna	19	View Details
VI016419	Fama	11	View Details
VI016420	Fendoo	19	View Details
VI016421	Tomba	14	View Details
VI016422	Tomade	11	View Details
VI016423	Top Caree	26	View Details
VI016424	Tombar	12	View Details
VI016425	Fingee	7	View Details
VI016426	Combar	8	View Details
VI016427	Faimy	9	View Details
VI016428	Fona	13	View Details
VI016429	Mane	9	View Details
VI016430	Merbo	10	View Details
VI016431	Moudy	11	View Details
VI016432	Kong	14	View Details
VI016433	Domano	26	View Details
VI016434	Mabundo	30	View Details
VI016435	Beroo	32	View Details

List of Source(s)

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-237
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Cintra
Title: British and Portuguese Mixed Commission Sierra Leone - Schooner Cintra
Creator: Hamilton, Daniel Molloy
Creator Title: Registrar
Description: Report related to the register and sale of the condemned vessel
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Figaniére Morás, J. Cesar; Gregory, Thomas; Fitzgerald, Edward; Altavillo, João Guilhermo
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-02-25
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-9 f52-53
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Report
Event Associator: V2317
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-02-25 Cintra V2317 FO84-9 f52-53.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-246
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Cintra
Title: British and Portuguese Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Sentencing report of the Cintra
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Figaniére Morás, J. Cesar; Gregory, Thomas; Fitzgerald, Edward; Altavillo, João Guilhermo
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-06-03
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-22 f9
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Sentence Report
Event Associator: V2317
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-06-03 Cintra V2317 FO315-22 f9.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-189
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Cintra
Title: Schooner Cintra Portuguese
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 25 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-10-02
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12193-12217
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2317
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Register1
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1819-10-02 Cintra V2317 Register1 SLR12193-12217.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-247
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Cintra
Title: Untitled
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Letter from Thomas Gregory to Viscount Casterleagh - Report of condemnation of the Cintra
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-06-27
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-4
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Unspecified
Event Associator: V2317
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-06-27 Cintra V2317 FO84-4 f117.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-190
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Cintra
Title: Schooner Cintra
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 25 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-10-02
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12193-12217
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2317
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.
Notes: Register2
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1819-10-02 Cintra V2317 Register2 SLR12193-12217.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-174
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Cintra
Title: Portuguese Schooner Cintra
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 26 people
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-06-03
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-31 f19
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2317
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-06-03 Cintra V2317 FO315-31 f19.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-214
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Cintra
Title: Case of the Schooner the Cintra
Creator: Gregory, Thomas
Creator Title: British Commissary Judge
Description: Description of the voyage and capture of the Cintra
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-11-22
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-3 f106-107
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Vessel Seizure
Event Associator: V2317
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-11-22 Cintra V2317 FO84-3 f106-107.pdf
Format: PDF