Courts & Cases

Juanita (a) Junietta

In 1819, 9 enslaved African(s) were “liberated” in a state-run scheme usually resulting in involuntary indentures, conscription, or re-enslavement. Under the jurisdiction of 4, Case ID LA-E-3142 occurred via the British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown.

Case Details

UID	LA-E-3142
Case Name	Juanita (a) Junietta
Year	1819
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Enslaved Total	9
Liberated Africans Total	9
Registered Total	9
Notes
Sources	"List of Vessels Adjudicated in the Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission," 6 Feb. 1826, in “Class A. Correspondence with the British Commissioners at Sierra Leone, the Havannah, Rio de Janeiro, and Surinam, relating to the Slave Trade, 1826-1827,” in T. P. O'Neill, T. F. Turley, et al., eds., Irish University Press Series of British Parliamentary Papers: Slave Trade, vol. 11 (Shannon: Irish University Press, 1968-1969), 4-6; SlaveVoyages, www.slavevoyages.org (accessed 2020), Voyage ID: 2318.
Cite as:	Lovejoy, H. B. (2024). Conceptualizing ‘Liberated Africans’ and Slave Trade Abolition: Government Schemes to Indenture Enslaved People Captured from Slavery, 1800–1920. Past & Present, 1-69. https://doi.org/10.1093/pastj/gtae019 Chadha, K. (2024). Regenerated Identities: A Collaborative Web-based Content Management System for Digital Humanities. International Journal of Computer Applications, 186(29), 28–33. https://ijcaonline.org/archives/volume186/number29/regenerated-identities-a-collaborative-web-based-content-management-system-for-digital-humanities/

Event Details

UID	LA-E-3142
Case Name	Juanita (a) Junietta

Departure from Africa

Date	1819-07-27
Region	Western Bight
Place	Keta
Enslaved Total	9

Capture

Date	1819-09-30
Location	5°39'0" N., 1°21'0" E.
Navy	Britain
Ship	Snapper
Captain	James Henderson
Supporting Ships

Trial

Sentence Date	1819-11-12
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Date	1819-11-08
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Freetown
Liberated Africans	9
Registered	9

People Details

UI	Name	Age
VI015993	Haso	18	View Details
VI015994	Currasa	14	View Details
VI015995	Cochair	20	View Details
VI015996	Darcaue	24	View Details
VI015997	Quarko	22	View Details
VI015998	Arge	25	View Details
VI015999	Comme	19	View Details
VI016000	Osay	26	View Details
VI016001	Barquar	10	View Details

List of Source(s)

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-197
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Juanita (a) Junietta
Title: Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report on the declarations and interrogations of master and crew
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; LeFer, Francisco; Hamilton, Daniel Molloy
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-11-10
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-26 f22
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Interrogation Report
Event Associator: V2318
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-11-10 Juanita V2318 FO315-26 f22.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-198
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Juanita (a) Junietta
Title: Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report of an examination of the Schooner Juanita
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-11-12
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-26 f23-24
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Examination Report
Event Associator: V2318
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-11-12 Juanita V2318 FO315-26 f23-24.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-199
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Juanita (a) Junietta
Title: Spanish Schooner Juanitta
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 9 people
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-11-12
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-31 f3
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2318
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-11-12 Juanita V2318 FO315-31 f3.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-200
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Juanita (a) Junietta
Title: Spanish Schooner Juanitta
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 9 people
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-11-12
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-4 f218
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2318
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-11-12 Juanita V2318 FO84-4 f218.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-201
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Juanita (a) Junietta
Title: Spanish Schooner Juanitta
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 9 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-11-12
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12326-12334
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2318
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Register1
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1819-11-12 Juanita V2318 Register1 SLR12326-12334.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-206
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Juanita (a) Junietta
Title: Spanish Schooner Juanitta
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 9 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-11-13
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12326-12334
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2318
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.
Notes: Register2
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1819-11-13 Juanita V2318 Register2 SLR12326-12334.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-225
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Juanita (a) Junietta
Title: Case of the Spanish Schooner the Juanita
Creator: Gregory, Thomas
Creator Title: British Commissary Judge
Description: Description of the voyage and capture of the Juanita
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-11-30
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-3 f108-109
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Case Summary
Event Associator: V2318
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-11-22 Juanita V2318 FO84-3 f108-109.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-258
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Juanita (a) Junietta
Title: Account of the Sales of the Spanish Schooner Juanita
Creator: Woods, James
Creator Title: Acting Registrar
Description: Itemized account of the sale of the Juanita following condemnation
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; Fitzgerald, Edward
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-08-16
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-9 f241-244v
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Expense Report
Event Associator: V2318
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-08-16 Juanita V2318 FO84-9 f241-244v.pdf
Format: PDF