Courts & Cases

Francisco

In 1820, 79 enslaved African(s) were “liberated” in a state-run scheme usually resulting in involuntary indentures, conscription, or re-enslavement. Under the jurisdiction of 4, Case ID LA-E-3144 occurred via the British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown.

Case Details

UID	LA-E-3144
Case Name	Francisco
Year	1820
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Enslaved Total	79
Liberated Africans Total	79
Registered Total	69
Notes
Sources	"List of Vessels Adjudicated in the Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission," 6 Feb. 1826, in “Class A. Correspondence with the British Commissioners at Sierra Leone, the Havannah, Rio de Janeiro, and Surinam, relating to the Slave Trade, 1826-1827,” in T. P. O'Neill, T. F. Turley, et al., eds., Irish University Press Series of British Parliamentary Papers: Slave Trade, vol. 11 (Shannon: Irish University Press, 1968-1969), 4-6; SlaveVoyages, www.slavevoyages.org (accessed 2020), Voyage ID: 2320.
Cite as:	Lovejoy, H. B. (2024). Conceptualizing ‘Liberated Africans’ and Slave Trade Abolition: Government Schemes to Indenture Enslaved People Captured from Slavery, 1800–1920. Past & Present, 1-69. https://doi.org/10.1093/pastj/gtae019 Chadha, K. (2024). Regenerated Identities: A Collaborative Web-based Content Management System for Digital Humanities. International Journal of Computer Applications, 186(29), 28–33. https://ijcaonline.org/archives/volume186/number29/regenerated-identities-a-collaborative-web-based-content-management-system-for-digital-humanities/

Event Details

UID	LA-E-3144
Case Name	Francisco

Departure from Africa

Date	1820-01-30
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Rio Pongo
Enslaved Total	79

Capture

Date	1820-01-30
Location	10°10'0" N., 14°40'0" W.
Navy	Britain
Ship	Tartar
Captain	George Collier
Supporting Ships

Trial

Sentence Date	1820-02-08
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Date	1820-02-05
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Freetown
Liberated Africans	79
Registered	69

People Details

UI	Name	Age
VI016557	Sumay	30	View Details
VI016558	Surrar	30	View Details
VI016559	Bocarry	32	View Details
VI016560	Yardoy	24	View Details
VI016561	Marmardoo	28	View Details
VI016562	Harsanna	26	View Details
VI016563	Harsanna	17	View Details
VI016564	Sarrar	20	View Details
VI016565	Gurar	20	View Details
VI016566	Humour	14	View Details
VI016567	Sumbar	16	View Details
VI016568	Beebo	18	View Details
VI016569	Suregee	26	View Details
VI016570	Barray	19	View Details
VI016571	Whygar	26	View Details
VI016572	Boguar	21	View Details
VI016573	Suretree	24	View Details
VI016574	Barrar	22	View Details
VI016575	Dolloo	20	View Details
VI016576	Jimbee	20	View Details
VI016577	Jaiguay	21	View Details
VI016578	Minney	19	View Details
VI016579	Yugway	21	View Details
VI016580	Barley	30	View Details
VI016581	Tewar	30	View Details
VI016582	Yarmoo	26	View Details
VI016583	Carquar	24	View Details
VI016584	Yararr	19	View Details
VI016585	Barrar	30	View Details
VI016586	Yeo	28	View Details
VI016587	Fumarney	29	View Details
VI016588	Sallar	25	View Details
VI016589	Malagar	24	View Details
VI016590	Marsar	19	View Details
VI016591	Gillar	22	View Details
VI016592	Marmode	26	View Details
VI016593	Jack	14	View Details
VI016594	Jim	27	View Details
VI016595	Yeo	29	View Details
VI016596	Hummodore	22	View Details
VI016597	Surry	24	View Details
VI016598	Morrerow	25	View Details
VI016599	Yallow	32	View Details
VI016600	Yarbub	19	View Details
VI016601	Farmoro	26	View Details
VI016602	Cartoolar	33	View Details
VI016603	Alleme	20	View Details
VI016604	Yallow	30	View Details
VI016605	Yallow	27	View Details
VI016606	Marsar	28	View Details
VI016607	Tarmole	26	View Details
VI016608	Sarrar	28	View Details
VI016609	Warsar	19	View Details
VI016610	Yar	19	View Details
VI016611	Surboo	12	View Details
VI016612	Sarlar	11	View Details
VI016613	Commeear	12	View Details
VI016614	Sarrar	12	View Details
VI016615	Narfacoo	13	View Details
VI016616	Warday	11	View Details
VI016617	Brimar	13	View Details
VI016618	Comme	20	View Details
VI016619	Tunnar	22	View Details
VI016620	Suvanna	23	View Details
VI016621	Farcar	21	View Details
VI016622	Cardee	20	View Details
VI016623	Darvar	18	View Details
VI016624	Coombar	14	View Details
VI016625	Larmenar	13	View Details
VI016626	Bannar	10	View Details
VI016627	Norcar	10	View Details

List of Source(s)

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-260
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Francisco
Title: British and Spanish Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report of the examination of the schooner Francisco
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; LeFer, Francisco; Fitzgerald, Robert Barry
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-02-08
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-26 f32-33
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Examination Report
Event Associator: V2320
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-02-08 Francisco V2320 FO315-26 f32-33.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-261
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Francisco
Title: Spanish Schooner Francisco
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 69 people
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-02-08
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-31 f12-14
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2320
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-02-08 Francisco V2320 FO315-31 f12-14.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-262
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Francisco
Title: Untitled
Creator: Gregory, Thomas
Creator Title: British Commissary Judge
Description: Letter from Thomas Gregory to Viscount Casterleagh - Report of condemnation of the Francisco
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-03-20
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-4 17-17v
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Correspondence
Event Associator: V2320
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-03-20 Francisco V2320 FO84-4 17-17v.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-263
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Francisco
Title: Untitled
Creator: Gregory, Thomas
Creator Title: British Commissary Judge
Description: Letter from Thomas Gregory to Viscount Casterleagh - Report on the submission of case files for the Francisco
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; Fitzgerald, Edward
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-03-20
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-4 f13-13v
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Correspondence
Event Associator: V2320
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-02-20 Francisco V2320 FO84-4 f13-13v.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-264
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Francisco
Title: Case of the Schooner the Francisco
Creator: Gregory, Thomas
Creator Title: British Commissary Judge
Description: Description of the voyage and capture of the Francisco
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-02-08
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-4 f15-15v
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Case Summary
Event Associator: V2320
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-02-08 Francisco V2320 FO84-4 f15-15v.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-265
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Francisco
Title: Francisco Spanish Schooner
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 69 people
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-02-08
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-4 f263-264
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2320
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-02-08 Francisco V2320 FO84-4 f263-264.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-266
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Francisco
Title: Proceeds of Sale of the Spanish Schooner Francisco
Creator: Woods, James
Creator Title: Acting Registrar
Description: Itemized account of the sale of the Francisco following condemnation
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; Fitzgerald, Edward
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-08-16
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-9 f253-254
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Expense Report
Event Associator: V2320
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-08-16 Francisco V2320 FO84-9 f253-254.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-267
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Francisco
Title: Schooner Francisco
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 69 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-02-08
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12257-12325
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2320
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Register1
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1820-02-08 Francisco V2320 Register1 SLR12257-12325.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-268
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Francisco
Title: Spanish Schooner Francisco
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 69 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-02-09
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12257-12325
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2320
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.
Notes: Register2
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1820-02-09 Francisco V2320 Register2 SLR12257-12325.pdf
Format: PDF