Courts & Cases

Nuestra Señora de Monserrate

In 1820, 84 enslaved African(s) were “liberated” in a state-run scheme usually resulting in involuntary indentures, conscription, or re-enslavement. Under the jurisdiction of 4, Case ID LA-E-3146 occurred via the British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown.

Case Details

UID	LA-E-3146
Case Name	Nuestra Señora de Monserrate
Year	1820
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Enslaved Total	85
Liberated Africans Total	84
Registered Total	84
Notes
Sources	"List of Vessels Adjudicated in the Court of the British and Spanish Mixed Commission," 6 Feb. 1826, in “Class A. Correspondence with the British Commissioners at Sierra Leone, the Havannah, Rio de Janeiro, and Surinam, relating to the Slave Trade, 1826-1827,” in T. P. O'Neill, T. F. Turley, et al., eds., Irish University Press Series of British Parliamentary Papers: Slave Trade, vol. 11 (Shannon: Irish University Press, 1968-1969), 4-6; SlaveVoyages, www.slavevoyages.org (accessed 2020), Voyage ID: 2322.
Cite as:	Lovejoy, H. B. (2024). Conceptualizing ‘Liberated Africans’ and Slave Trade Abolition: Government Schemes to Indenture Enslaved People Captured from Slavery, 1800–1920. Past & Present, 1-69. https://doi.org/10.1093/pastj/gtae019 Chadha, K. (2024). Regenerated Identities: A Collaborative Web-based Content Management System for Digital Humanities. International Journal of Computer Applications, 186(29), 28–33. https://ijcaonline.org/archives/volume186/number29/regenerated-identities-a-collaborative-web-based-content-management-system-for-digital-humanities/

Event Details

UID	LA-E-3146
Case Name	Nuestra Señora de Monserrate

Departure from Africa

Date	1820-10-16
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Cape Mount
Enslaved Total	85

Capture

Date	1820-10-16
Location	6°8'0" N., 10°55'0" W.
Navy	Britain
Ship	Thistle
Captain	Robert Hagan
Supporting Ships

Trial

Sentence Date	1820-11-02
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Date	1820-10-30
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Freetown
Liberated Africans	84
Registered	84

People Details

UI	Name	Age
VI016709	Jewah	21	View Details
VI016710	Jongo	23	View Details
VI016711	Fabanna	25	View Details
VI016712	Weioh	26	View Details
VI016713	Bengee	40	View Details
VI016714	Melwah	30	View Details
VI016715	Nannyweeah	27	View Details
VI016716	Corry	25	View Details
VI016717	Gongobeeah	30	View Details
VI016718	Samina	26	View Details
VI016719	Suseeh	16	View Details
VI016720	Moah	14	View Details
VI016721	Bahloo	14	View Details
VI016722	Quameh	13	View Details
VI016723	Bab	7	View Details
VI016724	Buahloo	11	View Details
VI016725	Besseh	10	View Details
VI016726	Jalla	9	View Details
VI016727	Seeseh	7	View Details
VI016728	Nahyure	7	View Details
VI016729	Nahyure	7	View Details
VI016730	Graybean	5	View Details
VI016731	Massa	6	View Details
VI016732	Naquay	6	View Details
VI016733	Seeseh	8	View Details
VI016734	Patton	9	View Details
VI016735	Burrah	9	View Details
VI016736	Cunnah	8	View Details
VI016737	Tongenah	6	View Details
VI016738	Seesole	6	View Details
VI016739	Toura	6	View Details
VI016740	Curry	6	View Details
VI016741	Whywoh	10	View Details
VI016742	Tongoh	8	View Details
VI016743	Tarramole	6	View Details
VI016744	Seesah	6	View Details
VI016745	Seesah	5	View Details
VI016746	Seesah	6	View Details
VI016747	Maquay	6	View Details
VI016748	Tarsole	5	View Details
VI016749	Bonnaseeah	8	View Details
VI016750	Joe	9	View Details
VI016751	Naquay	6	View Details
VI016752	Callamoah	5	View Details
VI016753	Seesah	6	View Details
VI016754	Nouerq	7	View Details
VI016755	Seeseh	5	View Details
VI016756	Noyquerry	7	View Details
VI016757	Tinwarrole	9	View Details
VI016758	Seesah	5	View Details
VI016759	Nayquay	7	View Details
VI016760	Seesah	6	View Details
VI016761	Nongah	8	View Details
VI016762	Seesah	7	View Details
VI016763	Uwag	6	View Details
VI016764	Seesah	5	View Details
VI016765	Seesah	4	View Details
VI016766	Seesah	4	View Details
VI016767	Quei	5	View Details
VI016768	Wowah	7	View Details
VI016769	Geei	7	View Details
VI016770	Seeseh	5	View Details
VI016771	Jonney	10	View Details
VI016772	Wagenna	11	View Details
VI016773	Wogue	10	View Details
VI016774	Colluey	7	View Details
VI016775	Tumah	6	View Details
VI016776	Colluo	5	View Details
VI016777	Yehley	9	View Details
VI016778	Collue	8	View Details
VI016779	Yehley	8	View Details
VI016780	Collue	5	View Details
VI016781	Colluey	5	View Details
VI016782	Colluey	6	View Details
VI016783	Yeowah	4	View Details
VI016784	Yeowah	5	View Details
VI016785	Gulling	5	View Details
VI016786	Collue	4	View Details
VI016787	Collue	6	View Details
VI016788	Seeahia	6	View Details
VI016789	Collue	5	View Details
VI016790	Woow	6	View Details
VI016791	Wow	22	View Details
VI016792	Loeabaloh	24	View Details

List of Source(s)

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-299
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Montserrate
Title: British and Spanish Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report of the examination of the NS Monserrate
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; LeFer, Francisco; Fitzgerald, Robert Barry
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-11-01
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-26 f42
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Examination Report
Event Associator: V2322
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-11-01 Nuestra Señora de Montserrate V2322 FO315-26 f42.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-300
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Montserrate
Title: British and Spanish Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report of an examination of the NS Monserrate
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; LeFer, Francisco; Fitzgerald, Robert Barry
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-11-02
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-26 f43-44
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Examination Report
Event Associator: V2322
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-11-02 Nuestra Señora de Montserrate V2322 FO315-26 f43-44.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-301
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Montserrate
Title: Spanish Schooner Nuestra Senora de Monserrate
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 84 people
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-11-02
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-31 f20-22
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2322
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-11-02 Nuestra Señora de Montserrate V2322 FO315-31 f20-22.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-302
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Montserrate
Title: Abstract of the Case of the Spanish Schooner Nuestra Senora de Monserrate
Creator: Gregory, Thomas
Creator Title: British Commissary Judge
Description: Description of the voyage and capture of the NS Monserrate
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-11-06
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-4 f91-92v
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Case Summary
Event Associator: V2322
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-11-02 Nuestra Señora de Montserrate V2322 FO84-4 f91-92v.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-303
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Montserrate
Title: Untitled
Creator: Gregory, Thomas
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Letter from Thomas Gregory to Viscount Casterleagh - Report on the resettlement of Liberated Africans from the NS Monserrate to the south of the colony of Sierra Leone
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Fitzgerald, Edward
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-01-05
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-9 f12-18
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Resettlement
Event Associator: V2322
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-01-05 Nuestra Señora de Montserrate V2322 FO84-9 f12-18.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-304
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Montserrate
Title: Nuestra Senora de Monserrat
Creator: Fitzgerald, Robert Barry
Creator Title: Acting Registrar
Description: Register of 84 people
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-11-02
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-9 f20-21
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2322
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-11-02 Nuestra Señora de Montserrate V2322 FO84-9 f20-21.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-305
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Montserrate
Title: Proceeds fo Sale of the Spanish Schooner Nuestra Senora de la Montserrate
Creator: Woods, James
Creator Title: Acting Registrar
Description: Itemized account of the sale of the NS Montserrate following condemnation
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; Fitzgerald, Edward
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-08-16
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-9 f266-267
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Expense Report
Event Associator: V2322
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-08-16 Nuestra Señora de Montserrate V2322 FO84-9 f266-267.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-306
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Montserrate
Title: Schooner La Monserrat
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 84 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-11-02
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12712-12795
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2322
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.
Notes: Register1
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1820-11-02 Nuestra Señora de Montserrate V2322 Register1 SLR12712-12795.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-307
Year: 1820
Case Name Associator: Nuestra Señora de Montserrate
Title: Schooner La Monserrat
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 84 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Spanish Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-11-02
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12712-12795
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2322
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Register2
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1820-11-02 Nuestra Señora de Montserrate V2322 Register2 SLR12712-12795.pdf
Format: PDF