Courts & Cases

Adelaide

In 1821, 207 enslaved African(s) were “liberated” in a state-run scheme usually resulting in involuntary indentures, conscription, or re-enslavement. Under the jurisdiction of 4, Case ID LA-E-3342 occurred via the British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown.

Case Details

UID	LA-E-3342
Case Name	Adelaide
Year	1821
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Enslaved Total	232
Liberated Africans Total	207
Registered Total	207
Notes
Sources	"List of Vessels Adjudicated in the Court of the British and Portuguese Mixed Commission," 6 Feb. 1826, in “Class A. Correspondence with the British Commissioners at Sierra Leone, the Havannah, Rio de Janeiro, and Surinam, relating to the Slave Trade, 1826-1827,” in T. P. O'Neill, T. F. Turley, et al., eds., Irish University Press Series of British Parliamentary Papers: Slave Trade, vol. 11 (Shannon: Irish University Press, 1968-1969), 7-9; SlaveVoyages, www.slavevoyages.org (accessed 2020), Voyage ID: 2912.
Cite as:	Lovejoy, H. B. (2024). Conceptualizing ‘Liberated Africans’ and Slave Trade Abolition: Government Schemes to Indenture Enslaved People Captured from Slavery, 1800–1920. Past & Present, 1-69. https://doi.org/10.1093/pastj/gtae019 Chadha, K. (2024). Regenerated Identities: A Collaborative Web-based Content Management System for Digital Humanities. International Journal of Computer Applications, 186(29), 28–33. https://ijcaonline.org/archives/volume186/number29/regenerated-identities-a-collaborative-web-based-content-management-system-for-digital-humanities/

Event Details

UID	LA-E-3342
Case Name	Adelaide

Departure from Africa

Date	1821-07-21
Region	Western Bight
Place	Badagry
Enslaved Total	232

Capture

Date	1821-07-25
Location	4°15'0" N., 6°0'0" E.; Cape Formosa
Navy	Britain
Ship	Pheasant; Myrmidon
Captain	B.M. Kelley; Leeke
Supporting Ships

Trial

Sentence Date	1821-09-17
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Date	1821-09-15
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Freetown
Liberated Africans	207
Registered	207

People Details

UI	Name	Age
VI017833	Joe	25	View Details
VI017834	Laiaoh	25	View Details
VI017835	Madame	20	View Details
VI017836	Boochar	30	View Details
VI017837	Gadao	20	View Details
VI017838	Bucharry	23	View Details
VI017839	Hycholar	25	View Details
VI017840	Lah	19	View Details
VI017841	Barrorah	25	View Details
VI017842	Hodoo	20	View Details
VI017843	Hooh	21	View Details
VI017844	Adang	25	View Details
VI017845	Adojah	21	View Details
VI017846	Harsarsay	29	View Details
VI017847	Andidie	19	View Details
VI017848	Adam	19	View Details
VI017849	Doe	18	View Details
VI017850	Adou	18	View Details
VI017851	Acarhulah	23	View Details
VI017852	Soopah	22	View Details
VI017853	Sodoh	24	View Details
VI017854	Tamboi	26	View Details
VI017855	Achavock	25	View Details
VI017856	Achow	22	View Details
VI017857	Honodu	20	View Details
VI017858	Chinahee	19	View Details
VI017859	Inoh	28	View Details
VI017860	Turrioh	20	View Details
VI017861	Housah	20	View Details
VI017862	Monoboo	33	View Details
VI017863	Hodashie	22	View Details
VI017864	Hago	20	View Details
VI017865	Copoo	20	View Details
VI017866	Nasarrah	21	View Details
VI017867	Maddu	23	View Details
VI017868	Hogah	22	View Details
VI017869	Aderachm	30	View Details
VI017870	Barhoo	21	View Details
VI017871	Adoode	28	View Details
VI017872	Momnah	21	View Details
VI017873	Sidoo	20	View Details
VI017874	Cudoo	19	View Details
VI017875	Mamnah	23	View Details
VI017876	Niem	19	View Details
VI017877	Dunoh	18	View Details
VI017878	Loochaheth	25	View Details
VI017879	Sooncho	23	View Details
VI017880	Die	19	View Details
VI017881	Alafee	27	View Details
VI017882	Cunatee	23	View Details
VI017883	Marsordehee	23	View Details
VI017884	Midoo	22	View Details
VI017885	Akooloo	27	View Details
VI017886	Handue	19	View Details
VI017887	Cocooe	25	View Details
VI017888	Atalooh	20	View Details
VI017889	Heseloh	33	View Details
VI017890	Achartokee	26	View Details
VI017891	Huna	19	View Details
VI017892	Lamdoh	16	View Details
VI017893	Fudoomah	15	View Details
VI017894	Gohana	15	View Details
VI017895	Flodoo	16	View Details
VI017896	Salanguo	15	View Details
VI017897	Samdah	16	View Details
VI017898	Tudoomah	15	View Details
VI017899	Gaboorea	15	View Details
VI017900	Silodee	15	View Details
VI017901	Nekoy	36	View Details
VI017902	Akami	30	View Details
VI017903	Asana	34	View Details
VI017904	Lagafie	28	View Details
VI017905	Saffa	26	View Details
VI017906	Jantaur	30	View Details
VI017907	Assomby	18	View Details
VI017908	Aciley	16	View Details
VI017909	Acebo	16	View Details
VI017910	Omby	18	View Details
VI017911	Marmoo	25	View Details
VI017912	Bearry	21	View Details
VI017913	Ocasso	26	View Details
VI017914	Agabie	15	View Details
VI017915	Gapu	30	View Details
VI017916	Assa	30	View Details
VI017917	Pellu	25	View Details
VI017918	Billaso	25	View Details
VI017919	Tilly	25	View Details
VI017920	Joe	24	View Details
VI017921	Esalie	28	View Details
VI017922	Mamo	22	View Details
VI017923	Adomy	26	View Details
VI017924	Ambicloy	30	View Details
VI017925	Aonia	28	View Details
VI017926	Singa	15	View Details
VI017927	Noividay	20	View Details
VI017928	Senga	28	View Details
VI017929	Owodon	30	View Details
VI017930	Orega	30	View Details
VI017931	Aiely	28	View Details
VI017932	Tabili	26	View Details
VI017933	Amodoa	20	View Details
VI017934	Sido	23	View Details
VI017935	Ego	16	View Details
VI017936	Bohimmy	20	View Details
VI017937	Mamu	20	View Details
VI017938	Acob	16	View Details
VI017939	Adam	26	View Details
VI017940	Adsoma	21	View Details
VI017941	Finkong	15	View Details
VI017942	Minassa	16	View Details
VI017943	Oga	15	View Details
VI017944	Laidy	30	View Details
VI017945	Bogoo	25	View Details
VI017946	Auco	26	View Details
VI017947	Assebee	35	View Details
VI017948	Atop	40	View Details
VI017949	Sanoo	14	View Details
VI017950	Coopassa	14	View Details
VI017951	Huno	13	View Details
VI017952	Lamdah	14	View Details
VI017953	Fudoomah	14	View Details
VI017954	Gaboora	13	View Details
VI017955	Filodaa	16	View Details
VI017956	Salargue	13	View Details
VI017957	Sanoo	13	View Details
VI017958	Coopassee	14	View Details
VI017959	Huna	13	View Details
VI017960	Lookalah	12	View Details
VI017961	Soola	12	View Details
VI017962	Doosamo	11	View Details
VI017963	Sumah	10	View Details
VI017964	Tibterah	12	View Details
VI017965	Muchadoo	10	View Details
VI017966	Beck	10	View Details
VI017967	Ogolah	9	View Details
VI017968	Amodoe	9	View Details
VI017969	Doe	12	View Details
VI017970	Husah	11	View Details
VI017971	Looklakme	11	View Details
VI017972	Haribook	13	View Details
VI017973	Loewarthoo	12	View Details
VI017974	Igee	12	View Details
VI017975	Dahdoh	11	View Details
VI017976	Ocosah	12	View Details
VI017977	Appassa	12	View Details
VI017978	Alapi	12	View Details
VI017979	Dotta	13	View Details
VI017980	Callalow	13	View Details
VI017981	Hutan	7	View Details
VI017982	Mamu	7	View Details
VI017983	Ogabee	6	View Details
VI017984	Allu	4	View Details
VI017985	Aklooden	7	View Details
VI017986	Adsay	7	View Details
VI017987	Listo	7	View Details
VI017988	Nicobee	7	View Details
VI017989	Momodeo	7	View Details
VI017990	Lawoepan	25	View Details
VI017991	Dabewee	24	View Details
VI017992	Heeno	26	View Details
VI017993	Adocha	22	View Details
VI017994	Boyher	16	View Details
VI017995	Ochoe	19	View Details
VI017996	Cochonesey	18	View Details
VI017997	Abiggy	22	View Details
VI017998	Holofanny	24	View Details
VI017999	Abissalah	27	View Details
VI018000	Houhah	24	View Details
VI018001	Cussie	26	View Details
VI018002	Houssa	25	View Details
VI018003	Morooh	27	View Details
VI018004	Dobay	27	View Details
VI018005	Adessah	30	View Details
VI018006	Habie	25	View Details
VI018007	Joe	28	View Details
VI018008	Aibul	25	View Details
VI018009	Mamonee	30	View Details
VI018010	Acobe	35	View Details
VI018011	Ogassobee	34	View Details
VI018012	Olacen	15	View Details
VI018013	Averdou	18	View Details
VI018014	Adogo	25	View Details
VI018015	Colay	21	View Details
VI018016	Osia	25	View Details
VI018017	Abauki	25	View Details
VI018018	Tilmi	25	View Details
VI018019	Sappa	25	View Details
VI018020	Agbassai	31	View Details
VI018021	Imbossa	22	View Details
VI018022	Asama	35	View Details
VI018023	Alimbaga	28	View Details
VI018024	Alissa	30	View Details
VI018025	Alima	20	View Details
VI018026	Alaaba	25	View Details
VI018027	Alubessey	28	View Details
VI018028	Timmy	40	View Details
VI018029	Cassa	30	View Details
VI018030	Acodie	35	View Details
VI018031	Guissoee	1	View Details
VI018032	Canosah	1	View Details
VI018033	Lattotie	12	View Details
VI018034	Allah	12	View Details
VI018035	Abagui	12	View Details
VI018036	Alagui	12	View Details
VI018037	Dehoy	14	View Details
VI018038	Hinhobah	10	View Details
VI018039	Agamohie	10	View Details
VI018040	Annamajee	15	View Details
VI018041	Huna	15	View Details
VI018042	Larweopon	25	View Details
VI018043	Tinkoy	21	View Details
VI018044	Couosah	35	View Details
VI018045	Kenny	26	View Details
VI018046	Bacca	36	View Details
VI018047	Anna	30	View Details
VI018048	Hareamo	30	View Details
VI018049	Leaiday	30	View Details
VI018050	Begao	21	View Details
VI018051	Auoco	36	View Details
VI018052	Assebie	35	View Details
VI018053	Assafi	16	View Details
VI018054	Saber	40	View Details
VI018055	Ojabi	30	View Details
VI018056	Aguisiminie	26	View Details
VI018057	Filmi	25	View Details
VI018058	Sappee	25	View Details
VI018059	Agabassie	30	View Details
VI018060	Tumbassie	22	View Details
VI018061	Ogobee	14	View Details
VI018062	Bilagu	7	View Details
VI018063	Fabay	7	View Details
VI018064	Anoco	2	View Details
VI018065	Agonokee	10	View Details

List of Source(s)

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-315
Year: 1821
Case Name Associator: Adelaide
Title: Untitled
Creator: Gregory, Thomas
Creator Title: British Commissary Judge
Description: Letter from Thomas Gregory to Viscount Casterleagh - Report of condemnation of the Adelaide
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Fitzgerald, Edward
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-09-20
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-10 f142
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Correspondence
Event Associator: V2912
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-09-20 Adelaide V2912 FO84-10 f142.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-316
Year: 1821
Case Name Associator: Adelaide
Title: Abstract of the Case of the Portuguese Schooner “Adelaide”
Creator: Gregory, Thomas
Creator Title: British Commissary Judge
Description: Description of the voyage and capture of the Adelaide
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Fitzgerald, Edward
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-09-17
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-10 f144-145
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Case Summary
Event Associator: V2912
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-09-17 Adelaide V2912 FO84-10 f144-145.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-317
Year: 1821
Case Name Associator: Adelaide
Title: Portuguese Schooner Adelaide
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 207 people
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-09-17
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-15 f140-143
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2912
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-09-17 Adelaide V2912 FO84-15 f140-143.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-318
Year: 1821
Case Name Associator: Adelaide
Title: Account of Sales of the Hull
Creator: Fitzgerald, Edward
Creator Title: British Arbitrator
Description: Itemized account of the sale of the Adelaide following condemnation
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Gregory, Thomas; Altavillo, João Guilhermo;
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1822-07-05
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-15 f93-94
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Expense Report
Event Associator: V2912
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1822-07-05 Adelaide V2912 FO84-15 f93-94.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-319
Year: 1821
Case Name Associator: Adelaide
Title: British and Portuguese Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Bruce, John
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Receipt of proceeds from the Adelaide
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Findlay, John
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1822-06-22
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-15 f95
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Expense Report
Event Associator: V2912
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1822-06-18 Adelaide V2912 FO84-15 f95.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-320
Year: 1821
Case Name Associator: Adelaide
Title: Portuguese Schooner Adelaide
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 207 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-09-18
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR13468-13675
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2912
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Register1
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1821-09-18 Adelaide V2912 Register1 SLR13468-13675.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-321
Year: 1821
Case Name Associator: Adelaide
Title: Portuguese Schooner Adelaide
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 207 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-09-18
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR13468-13675
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2912
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.
Notes: Register2
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1821-09-18 Adelaide V2912 Register2 SLR13468-13675.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-311
Year: 1821
Case Name Associator: Adelaide
Title: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report on the declarations and interrogations of master and crew
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Gregory, Edward; Altavillo, João Guilhermo; Fitzgerald, Edward; Sawyer, W. J.; Woods, James
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-09-13
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-22 f56
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Interrogation Report
Event Associator: V2912
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-09-13 Adelaide V2912 FO315-22 f56.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-312
Year: 1821
Case Name Associator: Adelaide
Title: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report on the declarations and interrogations of master and crew
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Gregory, Edward; Altavillo, João Guilhermo; Fitzgerald, Edward; Sawyer, W. J.; Woods, James
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-09-15
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-22 f57
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Interrogation Report
Event Associator: V2912
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-09-15 Adelaide V2912 FO315-22 f57.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-313
Year: 1821
Case Name Associator: Adelaide
Title: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Dispute over 20 pounds related to the proceeds of the vessel's sale
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Gregory, Edward; Altavillo, João Guilhermo; Fitzgerald, Edward; Sawyer, W. J.; Woods, James
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-10-19
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-22 f60.
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Expense Report
Event Associator: V2912
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-10-19 Adelaide V2912 FO315-22 f60.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-314
Year: 1821
Case Name Associator: Adelaide
Title: Portuguese Schooner Adelaide
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 207 people
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-09-17
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-31 f44-50
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V2912
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-09-17 Adelaide V2912 FO315-31 f44-50.pdf
Format: PDF