Courts & Cases

Nueva Paz

In 1816, 108 enslaved African(s) were “liberated” in a state-run scheme usually resulting in involuntary indentures, conscription, or re-enslavement. Under the jurisdiction of 1, Case ID LA-E-3839 occurred via the Court of Vice Admiralty, Freetown.

Case Details

UID	LA-E-3839
Case Name	Nueva Paz
Year	1816
Government Department	Colonial and Foreign Offices, Great Britain
Court	Court of Vice Admiralty, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Enslaved Total	118
Liberated Africans Total	108
Registered Total	65
Notes
Sources	The National Archives, UK, HCA 49/91/1, "Vessels Cargoes and Slaves Proceeded Against in the Court of Vice Admiralty at Sierra Leone," Jun. 1808 - Mar. 1817, f. 1-37; The National Archives, UK, CO 967/91, "List of Vessels adjudicated at the Court of Vice Admiralty of Sierra Leone having the number of slaves captured and emancipated," 3 Sep. 1809 - 31 Dec. 1825, large document (15 ft. long); SlaveVoyages, www.slavevoyages.org (accessed 2020), Voyage ID: 7594.
Cite as:	Lovejoy, H. B. (2024). Conceptualizing ‘Liberated Africans’ and Slave Trade Abolition: Government Schemes to Indenture Enslaved People Captured from Slavery, 1800–1920. Past & Present, 1-69. https://doi.org/10.1093/pastj/gtae019 Chadha, K. (2024). Regenerated Identities: A Collaborative Web-based Content Management System for Digital Humanities. International Journal of Computer Applications, 186(29), 28–33. https://ijcaonline.org/archives/volume186/number29/regenerated-identities-a-collaborative-web-based-content-management-system-for-digital-humanities/

Event Details

UID	LA-E-3839
Case Name	Nueva Paz

Departure from Africa

Date
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Galinhas
Enslaved Total	118

Capture

Date	1816-05-05
Location
Navy	Britain
Ship	Prince Regent
Captain	Robert Hagan
Supporting Ships

Trial

Sentence Date	1816-06-19
Government Department	Colonial and Foreign Offices, Great Britain
Court	Court of Vice Admiralty, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Date	1816-05-25
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Freetown
Liberated Africans	108
Registered	65

People Details

UI	Name	Age	Sex	Height (ft)
VI013526	Yorra	26	Man	5'3 1/2	View Details
VI013527	Carra	23	M	5'1	View Details
VI013528	Peter Thumbs	30	M	5'4	View Details
VI013529	Barra	30	M	5'2 1/2	View Details
VI013530	Davoorro	24	M	5'3	View Details
VI013531	Burama	24	M	5'5	View Details
VI013532	Barra	34	M	5'6	View Details
VI013533	Woewo	30	M	5'7 1/2	View Details
VI013534	Tamba	16	M	5'2	View Details
VI013535	Panda	32	M	5'4	View Details
VI013536	Barra	28	M	5'3	View Details
VI013537	Quay	24	M	5'4	View Details
VI013538	Doyba	24	M	5'2	View Details
VI013539	Morn	29	M	5'6 1/2	View Details
VI013540	Sagoo	26	M	5'3	View Details
VI013541	Faingree	27	Man	5'2 1/2	View Details
VI013542	Dawsora	40	M	5'3 1/2	View Details
VI013543	Forpamma	35	M	5'6	View Details
VI013544	Marry	29	M	5'1	View Details
VI013545	Damral Jorpu	42	M	5'3	View Details
VI013546	Coleba	27	M	5'6 1/2	View Details
VI013547	Borra	25	M	5'0 3/4	View Details
VI013548	Corree	42	M	5'5	View Details
VI013549	Cussa	32	M	5'7 3/4	View Details
VI013550	Panna	22	M	5'4	View Details
VI013551	Sessy	15	M	4'8 1/2	View Details
VI013552	Corra	14	M	4'8	View Details
VI013553	Woay	14	M	4'7 1/2	View Details
VI013554	Obay	14	M	4'8	View Details
VI013555	Sessry	12	Boy	4'5	View Details
VI013556	Yarra	12	B	4'7	View Details
VI013557	Brema	10	B	4'3	View Details
VI013558	Noquay	11	B	4'4	View Details
VI013559	Yarra	11	B	4'2	View Details
VI013560	Caparra	10	B	4'	View Details
VI013561	Noquay	8	B	3'9	View Details
VI013562	Marra	11	Girl	4'7	View Details
VI013563	Marra	11	G	4'2	View Details
VI013564	Gawoo	10	G	4'	View Details
VI013565	Maree	8	G	4'3 1/4	View Details
VI013566	Bandgee	35	Men	5'10 1/2	View Details
VI013567	Magoe	32	M	5'7 1/2	View Details
VI013568	Tamba	22	M	5'5	View Details
VI013569	Daworroo	32	M	5'3 1/2	View Details
VI013570	Saila	35	M	5'3 1/2	View Details
VI013571	Tong	25	M	5'3	View Details
VI013572	Bamba	29	M	5'4 1/2	View Details
VI013573	Grabana	36	M	5'4 1/2	View Details
VI013574	Wonsa	40	M	5'7 1/2	View Details
VI013575	Goramoo	23	M	5'1	View Details
VI013576	Tordudoo	22	M	5'2 1/2	View Details
VI013577	Fona	24	M	5'5	View Details
VI013578	Dawera		[NO ENTRY]	[NO ENTRY]	View Details
VI013579	Massah	26	M	5'3	View Details
VI013580	Boda	24	M	5'5	View Details
VI013581	Fowra Mamadoo	35	M	5'4 1/2	View Details
VI013582	Marnee	45	M	5'4	View Details
VI013583	Yimba	19	M	5'2 1/2	View Details
VI013584	Fowra	21	Men	5'5 1/2	View Details
VI013585	Coree	24	M	5'7 1/2	View Details
VI013586	Barra	25	M	5'7 1/2	View Details
VI013587	Chawne	18	M	5'	View Details
VI013588	Boy	25	Women	5'1	View Details
VI013589	Macon	32	W	5'2	View Details
VI013590	Tarro	27	W	5'2	View Details
VI013591	Mamoo	36	W	5'	View Details
VI013592	Barama	45	W	5'2	View Details
VI013593	Canada	20	W	4'9	View Details
VI013594	Sagba	20	W	4'10	View Details
VI013595	Tarra	30	W	4'11	View Details
VI013596	Booroo	8	Boys	3'3	View Details
VI013597	Jair	7	B	3'11 1/2	View Details
VI013598	Tamba	9	B	4'5	View Details
VI013599	Bagbo	8	B	4'3	View Details
VI013600	Kingren	7	B	4'3	View Details
VI013601	Bundo	9	B	4'1	View Details
VI013602	Fama	11	B	4'1	View Details
VI013603	Yabbee	12	Boys	4'3	View Details
VI013604	Banna	10	B	3'11	View Details
VI013605	Tamangroe	13	B	4'8	View Details
VI013606	Gofuel Bomfa	5	B	3'6	View Details
VI013607	Conamee	7	B	4'	View Details
VI013608	Barfu	6	B	3'7	View Details
VI013609	Fonco	9	B	4'4	View Details
VI013610	Mamadoo	10	B	4'5	View Details
VI013611	Tomba	11	B	4'3	View Details
VI013612	Will	10	B	4'1	View Details
VI013613	Bondoa	11	B	4'2	View Details
VI013614	Coma	9	B	3'7	View Details
VI013615	Mid	13	B	4'6	View Details
VI013616	Nema	11	B	4'5	View Details
VI013617	Comba	7	B	3'8	View Details
VI013618	Banda	12	B	4'2	View Details
VI013619	Haka	12	B	4'2	View Details
VI013620	Sovey	9	B	3'11	View Details
VI013621	Jair	11	B	4'1 1/2	View Details
VI013622	Fridi	11	B	4'4	View Details
VI013623	Bia	3	B	3	View Details
VI013624	Tamba	10	B	4'3	View Details
VI013625	Basha	8	Girl	4	View Details
VI013626	Mambawa	10	G	4'2 1/1	View Details
VI013627	Quay	9	G	3'6	View Details
VI013628	Canee	9	G	4'1	View Details
VI013629	Pamnaya	13	G	4'6	View Details
VI013630	Nauca	7	G	4' 1/2	View Details

List of Source(s)

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-120
Year: 1816
Case Name Associator: Nueva Paz
Title: Untitled
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Partial register of 40 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: Court of Vice Admiralty, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1816
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR9493-9532
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V7594
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.
Notes: Register2 Part1
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1816 Nueva Paz V7594 Register2 Part1 SLR9493-9532.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-137
Year: 1816
Case Name Associator: Nueva Paz
Title: La Nueva Pez
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 40 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: Court of Vice Admiralty, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1816-06-19
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR9493-9532
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V7594
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Register1 Part1
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1816-06-19 Nueva Paz V7594 Register1 Part1 SLR9493-9532.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-121
Year: 1816
Case Name Associator: Nueva Paz
Title: Untitled
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Partial register of 65 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: Court of Vice Admiralty, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1816
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR9694-9758
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V7594
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.
Notes: Register2 Part2
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1816 Nueva Paz V7594 Register2 Part2 SLR9694-9758.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-139
Year: 1816
Case Name Associator: Nueva Paz
Title: His Majesty's Col Bric Prince Regent La Nueva Paz
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 65 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: Court of Vice Admiralty, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1816-08-29
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR9694-9758
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V7594
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Register1 Part2
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1816-08-29 Nueva Paz V7594 Register1 Part2 SLR9694-9758.pdf
Format: PDF