Courts & Cases

Teresa

In 1817, 201 enslaved African(s) were “liberated” in a state-run scheme usually resulting in involuntary indentures, conscription, or re-enslavement. Under the jurisdiction of 1, Case ID LA-E-3844 occurred via the Court of Vice Admiralty, Freetown.

Case Details

UID	LA-E-3844
Case Name	Teresa
Year	1817
Government Department	Colonial and Foreign Offices, Great Britain
Court	Court of Vice Admiralty, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Enslaved Total	201
Liberated Africans Total	201
Registered Total	201
Notes
Sources	The National Archives, UK, HCA 49/91/1, "Vessels Cargoes and Slaves Proceeded Against in the Court of Vice Admiralty at Sierra Leone," Jun. 1808 - Mar. 1817, f. 1-37; The National Archives, UK, CO 967/91, "List of Vessels adjudicated at the Court of Vice Admiralty of Sierra Leone having the number of slaves captured and emancipated," 3 Sep. 1809 - 31 Dec. 1825, large document (15 ft. long); SlaveVoyages, www.slavevoyages.org (accessed 2020), Voyage ID: 7607.
Cite as:	Lovejoy, H. B. (2024). Conceptualizing ‘Liberated Africans’ and Slave Trade Abolition: Government Schemes to Indenture Enslaved People Captured from Slavery, 1800–1920. Past & Present, 1-69. https://doi.org/10.1093/pastj/gtae019 Chadha, K. (2024). Regenerated Identities: A Collaborative Web-based Content Management System for Digital Humanities. International Journal of Computer Applications, 186(29), 28–33. https://ijcaonline.org/archives/volume186/number29/regenerated-identities-a-collaborative-web-based-content-management-system-for-digital-humanities/

Event Details

UID	LA-E-3844
Case Name	Teresa

Departure from Africa

Date
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Sherbro
Enslaved Total	201

Capture

Date	1816-06-21
Location
Navy	Britain
Ship
Captain	Donald Mackenzie
Supporting Ships

Trial

Sentence Date	1817-01-04
Government Department	Colonial and Foreign Offices, Great Britain
Court	Court of Vice Admiralty, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Condemned
Date
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Freetown
Liberated Africans	201
Registered	201

People Details

UI	Name	Age
VI014339	Juomer	36	View Details
VI014340	Monewar	29	View Details
VI014341	Manga	37	View Details
VI014342	Coduga	35	View Details
VI014343	Josea	25	View Details
VI014344	Javry	40	View Details
VI014345	Kangree	24	View Details
VI014346	Baccoo	28	View Details
VI014347	Conu	21	View Details
VI014348	Gua	29	View Details
VI014349	Bea	28	View Details
VI014350	Kangree	20	View Details
VI014351	Kangree	19	View Details
VI014352	Gamba	18	View Details
VI014353	Joe	18	View Details
VI014354	Woona	38	View Details
VI014355	Cutty Bambo	35	View Details
VI014356	Yarra	36	View Details
VI014357	Sandy	40	View Details
VI014358	Fanghawa	45	View Details
VI014359	Banna	20	View Details
VI014360	Imbaccoo	30	View Details
VI014361	Garay	37	View Details
VI014362	Gallee	28	View Details
VI014363	Cong	26	View Details
VI014364	Cong	22	View Details
VI014365	Gannar	21	View Details
VI014366	Caar	25	View Details
VI014367	Oobay	21	View Details
VI014368	Sabbar	20	View Details
VI014369	Banna Jomey	30	View Details
VI014370	Sabee	24	View Details
VI014371	Bea	25	View Details
VI014372	Yatta	23	View Details
VI014373	Bling	24	View Details
VI014374	Sunga	20	View Details
VI014375	Bannah	18	View Details
VI014376	Ganfree	26	View Details
VI014377	Gabannah	24	View Details
VI014378	Banny	25	View Details
VI014379	Bea	28	View Details
VI014380	Gehbe	20	View Details
VI014381	Sammay	40	View Details
VI014382	Kangree	25	View Details
VI014383	Cosu	34	View Details
VI014384	Gumboo	32	View Details
VI014385	Bea		View Details
VI014386	Ma	46	View Details
VI014387	Cambee	36	View Details
VI014388	Boorah	18	View Details
VI014389	Guama	28	View Details
VI014390	Gafay	48	View Details
VI014391	Symbo	22	View Details
VI014392	Gobanoo	48	View Details
VI014393	Boy	38	View Details
VI014394	Yafee	29	View Details
VI014395	Deembo	24	View Details
VI014396	Cau	26	View Details
VI014397	Mia	9	View Details
VI014398	Bangy	8	View Details
VI014399	Quavee	7	View Details
VI014400	Condo	7	View Details
VI014401	Raja	7	View Details
VI014402	Racrow	6	View Details
VI014403	Joe	6	View Details
VI014404	Joe	8	View Details
VI014405	Dosy	5	View Details
VI014406	Sow	10	View Details
VI014407	Soze	7	View Details
VI014408	Saa	11	View Details
VI014409	Dosy	10	View Details
VI014410	Gangha	7	View Details
VI014411	Guana	9	View Details
VI014412	Soze	6	View Details
VI014413	Joe	8	View Details
VI014414	Yewee	8	View Details
VI014415	Mendee	12	View Details
VI014416	Joe	8	View Details
VI014417	Kangree	9	View Details
VI014418	Gaffu	8	View Details
VI014419	Joe	10	View Details
VI014420	Youndah	7	View Details
VI014421	Pangarra	10	View Details
VI014422	Marka	7	View Details
VI014423	Joe	7	View Details
VI014424	Joe	8	View Details
VI014425	Kong	10	View Details
VI014426	Gagoo	3	View Details
VI014427	Boomboo	8	View Details
VI014428	Gamba	4	View Details
VI014429	Nurava	5	View Details
VI014430	Kanja	7	View Details
VI014431	Gafea	11	View Details
VI014432	Goah	5	View Details
VI014433	Lomba	5	View Details
VI014434	Gong	7	View Details
VI014435	Joe	8	View Details
VI014436	Gua	8	View Details
VI014437	Joe		View Details
VI014438	Inyou	7	View Details
VI014439	Sorrow	6	View Details
VI014440	Bamca	6	View Details
VI014441	Ecabang	6	View Details
VI014442	Joe	5	View Details
VI014443	Injoe	7	View Details
VI014444	Injoe	6	View Details
VI014445	Tong	6	View Details
VI014446	Tor	11	View Details
VI014447	Tom	8	View Details
VI014448	Tong	9	View Details
VI014449	Tong	11	View Details
VI014450	Pomb	11	View Details
VI014451	Tong	10	View Details
VI014452	Sessy	9	View Details
VI014453	Tamba	11	View Details
VI014454	Tong	8	View Details
VI014455	Coley	9	View Details
VI014456	Bonna	12	View Details
VI014457	Tuwa	12	View Details
VI014458	Baco	11	View Details
VI014459	Soa	11	View Details
VI014460	Acojolo	7	View Details
VI014461	Tor	6	View Details
VI014462	Wayta	7	View Details
VI014463	Shaw	9	View Details
VI014464	Baje	9	View Details
VI014465	Joy	8	View Details
VI014466	Nangbah	7	View Details
VI014467	Battok	8	View Details
VI014468	Bitteh	5	View Details
VI014469	Boy	10	View Details
VI014470	Boy	9	View Details
VI014471	Tocco	8	View Details
VI014472	Kaie	8	View Details
VI014473	Coonah	10	View Details
VI014474	Kaie	7	View Details
VI014475	Boy	13	View Details
VI014476	Coonah	7	View Details
VI014477	Jungah	9	View Details
VI014478	Kaie	5	View Details
VI014479	Kaie	8	View Details
VI014480	Magu	7	View Details
VI014481	Yamba	9	View Details
VI014482	Manja	6	View Details
VI014483	Matta	6	View Details
VI014484	Mamboywa	6	View Details
VI014485	Yombo	3	View Details
VI014486	Yambo	4	View Details
VI014487	Boy	9	View Details
VI014488	Connar	6	View Details
VI014489	Boy	6	View Details
VI014490	Boy	12	View Details
VI014491	Boy	10	View Details
VI014492	Boy	10	View Details
VI014493	Boy	7	View Details
VI014494	Kohnah	6	View Details
VI014495	Kah	8	View Details
VI014496	Nawscar	5	View Details
VI014497	Boy	6	View Details
VI014498	Nongah	7	View Details

List of Source(s)

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-143
Year: 1817
Case Name Associator: Teresa
Title: Brought from the Rios Sherbio the Teresa's Cargo
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 201 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: Court of Vice Admiralty, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1817-01-04
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR10255-10415
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V7607
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Register1
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1817-01-04 Teresa V7607 Register1 SLR10255-10415.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-144
Year: 1817
Case Name Associator: Teresa
Title: From the Schooner Teresa
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 201 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: Court of Vice Admiralty, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1817-01-04
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR10255-10415
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: V7607
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.
Notes: Register2
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1817-01-04 Teresa V7607 Register2 SLR10255-10415.pdf
Format: PDF