Courts & Cases

Nova Felicidade

In 1820, 70 enslaved African(s) were “liberated” in a state-run scheme usually resulting in involuntary indentures, conscription, or re-enslavement. Under the jurisdiction of 4, Case ID LA-E-75 occurred via the British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown.

Case Details

UID	LA-E-75
Case Name	Nova Felicidade
Year	1820
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Restored
Enslaved Total	71
Liberated Africans Total	70
Registered Total	70
Notes
Sources	"List of Vessels Adjudicated in the Court of the British and Portuguese Mixed Commission," 6 Feb. 1826, in “Class A. Correspondence with the British Commissioners at Sierra Leone, the Havannah, Rio de Janeiro, and Surinam, relating to the Slave Trade, 1826-1827,” in T. P. O'Neill, T. F. Turley, et al., eds., Irish University Press Series of British Parliamentary Papers: Slave Trade, vol. 11 (Shannon: Irish University Press, 1968-1969), 7-9; "African Names Database," in SlaveVoyages, https://www.slavevoyages.org/past/database/african-origins (accessed 2021).
Cite as:	Lovejoy, H. B. (2024). Conceptualizing ‘Liberated Africans’ and Slave Trade Abolition: Government Schemes to Indenture Enslaved People Captured from Slavery, 1800–1920. Past & Present, 1-69. https://doi.org/10.1093/pastj/gtae019 Chadha, K. (2024). Regenerated Identities: A Collaborative Web-based Content Management System for Digital Humanities. International Journal of Computer Applications, 186(29), 28–33. https://ijcaonline.org/archives/volume186/number29/regenerated-identities-a-collaborative-web-based-content-management-system-for-digital-humanities/

Event Details

UID	LA-E-75
Case Name	Nova Felicidade

Departure from Africa

Date
Region	Eastern Bight
Place	Calabar
Enslaved Total	71

Capture

Date	1819-07-30
Location	2°23'0" N., 9°50'0" W.
Navy	Britain
Ship	Pheasant
Captain	B.M. Kelly
Supporting Ships

Trial

Sentence Date	1820-02-24
Government Department	Courts of Mixed Commission
Court	British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Freetown
Trial Outcome	Restored
Date	1819-08-18
Region	Rivers of West Africa
Place	Freetown
Liberated Africans	70
Registered	70

People Details

UI	Name	Age
VI016927	Bocko	22	View Details
VI016928	Kisrackah	24	View Details
VI016929	Attam	19	View Details
VI016930	Jaffia	27	View Details
VI016931	OLelly	20	View Details
VI016932	Dobo	19	View Details
VI016933	Appany	20	View Details
VI016934	Bah	30	View Details
VI016935	Hoccome	19	View Details
VI016936	Quntah	18	View Details
VI016937	Sabbu	18	View Details
VI016938	Atally	20	View Details
VI016939	Kimboy	21	View Details
VI016940	Kimoohat	18	View Details
VI016941	Dah	20	View Details
VI016942	Ebatt	17	View Details
VI016943	Olan	20	View Details
VI016944	Maboley	19	View Details
VI016945	Kanamany	19	View Details
VI016946	Agaranah	18	View Details
VI016947	Mangam	15	View Details
VI016948	Allah	18	View Details
VI016949	Wansah	15	View Details
VI016950	Equah	18	View Details
VI016951	Leehack	21	View Details
VI016952	OBacco	20	View Details
VI016953	Hariah	25	View Details
VI016954	Yadoquah	6	View Details
VI016955	Yadoquah	6	View Details
VI016956	Affah	6	View Details
VI016957	Collonquah		View Details
VI016958	Campo	8	View Details
VI016959	Appindo	9	View Details
VI016960	Dembo	7	View Details
VI016961	Tom	8	View Details
VI016962	Beer	8	View Details
VI016963	Awoo	8	View Details
VI016964	Nang	7	View Details
VI016965	Congway	8	View Details
VI016966	Appay	7	View Details
VI016967	Worah	6	View Details
VI016968	Congway	6	View Details
VI016969	Bah	7	View Details
VI016970	Song	6	View Details
VI016971	Accon	6	View Details
VI016972	Bullakah	10	View Details
VI016973	Maddihocka	12	View Details
VI016974	Aquabanghoo	10	View Details
VI016975	Accubbahoo	9	View Details
VI016976	Quormah	8	View Details
VI016977	Bekey	8	View Details
VI016978	Mobeah	8	View Details
VI016979	Ackroo	7	View Details
VI016980	Habbassey	7	View Details
VI016981	Hashoo	6	View Details
VI016982	Becky	6	View Details
VI016983	Attam	7	View Details
VI016984	Acquah	5	View Details
VI016985	Accumdaly	7	View Details
VI016986	Affayan	6	View Details
VI016987	Benny	7	View Details
VI016988	Waconbenny	6	View Details
VI016989	Gensoon	6	View Details
VI016990	Brookah	9	View Details
VI016991	Johoo	6	View Details
VI016992	Equah	12	View Details
VI016993	Ajonwah	9	View Details
VI016994	Annief	8	View Details
VI016995	Buborotee	6	View Details
VI016996	Annah	5	View Details

List of Source(s)

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-255
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nova Felicidade
Title: Account of the Sales of Schooner Nova Felicidade
Creator: Fitzgerald, Robert Barry
Creator Title: Acting Registrar
Description: Itemized account of the sale of the Nova Felicidade following condemnation
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Figaniére Morás, J. Cesar; Gregory, Thomas; Fitzgerald, Edward; Altavillo, João Guilhermo
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-02-11
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-9 f50
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Expense Report
Event Associator: AND59016
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-02-11 Nova Felicidade SL59016 FO84-9 f50.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-166
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nova Felicidade
Title: Portuguese Schooner
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 70 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12109-12178
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: AND59016
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Register1
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1819 Nova Felicidade SL59016 Register1 SLR12109-12178.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-167
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nova Felicidade
Title: Portuguese Schooner
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Register of 70 people
Publisher: British Library Endangered Archive Programme (Projects Numbers: EAP284, EAP443, EAP782)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2016
Resource Type: Text
Source: Sierra Leone Public Archives, SLR12109-12178
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; University of Worcester; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The British Library
Object Type: Register
Event Associator: AND59016
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.
Notes: Register2
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: Sierra Leone Public Archive
File_Name: 1819 Nova Felicidade SL59016 Register2 SLR12109-12178.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-178
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nova Felicidade
Title: Untitled
Creator: Kelly, B. Harwood
Creator Title: Commander of the HMS Pheasant
Description: Letter from B. Harwood Kelly to Thomas Gregory - Complaint that the slaves have been sitting too long on board the ship and need immediate removal
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1819-08-23
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-3 f66
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Correspondence
Event Associator: AND59016
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1819-08-20 Nova Felicidade SL59016 FO84-3 f66.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-236
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nova Felicidade
Title: Case of the Portuguese Schooner the Nova Felicidade
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Description of the voyage and capture of the Nova Felicidade
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-02-24
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-4 f105-106
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Case Summary
Event Associator: AND59016
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-02-24 Nova Felicidade SL59016 FO84-4 f105-106.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-238
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nova Felicidade
Title: Untitled
Creator: Gregory, Thomas
Creator Title: British Commissary Judge
Description: Letter from Thomas Gregory to Viscount Casterleagh - Report on the case of the Nova Felicidade
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Fitzgerald, Edward
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-02-25
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-4 f103-103v
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Correspondence
Event Associator: AND59016
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-02-25 Nova Felicidade SL59016 FO84-4 f103-103v.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-239
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nova Felicidade
Title: British and Portuguese Mixed Commission Sierra Leone
Creator: Unspecified
Creator Title: Unspecified
Description: Report of the examination of the schooner Nova Felicidade
Publisher: Anderson, Richard P.
Contributor: Unspecified
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1820-02-27
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO315-22 f5-6
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: York University; University of Colorado Boulder; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University
Object Type: Examination Report
Event Associator: AND59016
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1820-02-27 Nova Felicidade SL59016 FO315-22 f5-6.pdf
Format: PDF

Source Details

UID (Sources): LA-OB-254
Year: 1819
Case Name Associator: Nova Felicidade
Title: Account of the Sales of Schooner Nova Felicidade
Creator: Fitzgerald, Robert Barry
Creator Title: Acting Registrar
Description: Itemized account of the sale of the Nova Felicidade following condemnation
Publisher: The National Archives, Kew (Digital Microfilm Project)
Contributor: Figaniére Morás, J. Cesar; Gregory, Thomas; Fitzgerald, Edward; Altavillo, João Guilhermo
Court: British and Portuguese Court of Mixed Commission, Sierra Leone
Date Original: 1821-02-11
Date Range: Unspecified
Language: English
Date Digital: 2010-2011
Resource Type: Text
Source: The National Archives, FO84-9 f206
Rights Management: See Rights Management and Use Permissions section at liberatedafricans.org
Contributing Institution: University of Colorado Boulder; York University; MATRIX: Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences at Michigan State University; The National Archives, Kew
Object Type: Expense Report
Event Associator: AND59016
Researcher: Lovejoy, Henry B.; Anderson, Richard P.
Notes: Unspecified
African Region: West Africa
Africa Project: The National Archives, Kew
File_Name: 1821-02-11 Nova Felicidade SL59016 FO84-9 f206.pdf
Format: PDF